League One Online Betting

Football League One is the second-highest tier of The Football League and third-highest tier overall in the English football "pyramid" system. League One was introduced for the 2004/2005 season and was previously known as the Football League Second Division.

Previous Winners

Since the 2004-05 season, League One has been won by Luton Town, Southend United, Scunthorpe United and Swansea City. These teams have endured mixed fortunes since their League One winning season. Luton finished 10th in the Championship in the 2005-06 season, but suffered relegation back to League One the following season. Having entered administration in 2006-07, Luton were deducted 10 points, resulting in their relegation to League Two. Luton were docked a further 10 points at the start of the 2008-09 season, followed by a further 20 for exiting administration without a Company Voluntary Agreement. Thus they started 2008-09 on -30 points, fighting for survival in the Football League. Southend started their 2006-07 Championship season promisingly, but then suffered 18 games without a win resulting in their return to League One. They managed a League One playoff berth in 2007-08, but were thrashed 5-1 by Doncaster Rovers. Scunthorpe lasted only one season in the 2006-07 Championship, finishing 2nd from bottom.

Memorable Performances

Following 14 seasons in the top flight, Leeds United were relegated to the Championship in the 2003/04 season, forced to sell both their Elland Road stadium and training ground. Leeds suffered a further relegation to League One following a 10 point deduction in May 2007. In the 2007-08 campaign, Leeds were only allowed to play under an "exceptional circumstances rule", but were required to start their third tier season on -15 points. Despite starting at a huge price in the League One betting, Leeds performed remarkably, winning 27 games from 46 and drawing a further 10. Had they started on level terms, they would have failed by only a single point to win the League One title. As it was, they finished in 5th place and beat 4th-placed Carlisle United 3-2 in the playoff semi-final. Sadly, the fairytale was not to be, with Leeds going down 1-0 to Doncaster in the Wembley playoff final.

Match Betting

"Fixed odds" League One betting on 90 minutes play is probably the most popular form of League One betting with punters. However, online layers offer a massive range of betting markets associated with individual matches and an "odds comparison" site such as searchum.bestbetting.com is well worthy of investigation in order to determine exactly what League One betting is offered and where to find the best prices.

Outright Winners

With 24 teams vying for the League One title, finding a winner, especially early in the season, is a nigh impossible task. Punters are advised to keep stakes to a minimum and seek out value in the outright League One betting prices.


The top two clubs in League One gain automatic promotion to the Championship, along with the winners of the playoffs between the sides finishing in 3rd, 4th, 5th and 6th positions. They are replaced by the bottom three clubs in the Championship. Along with the League One winners, the promoted sides have been Hull City and Sheffield Wednesday (2004-05), Colchester United and Barnsley (2005-06), Bristol City and Blackpool (2006-07), Nottingham Forest and Doncaster Rovers (2007-08). Of these League One winners, Hull City have been the most successful, defeating Bristol City 1-0 in the 2007-08 Championship playoff final, to reach the Premier League for the first time in their history. In the race for promotion, more famous clubs with a large fan base often receive more respect than they deserve in the League One betting markets, based on reputation rather than recent form. Results achieved in the current and preceding seasons are a far better form guide than results from years ago. Since the inception of the playoffs, in the semi-finals, 3rd beat 6th 63% of the time, while 4th beat 5th 56% of the time. In the playoff final, the side achieving the higher league placing won 57% of the time. Such statistics are well worth considering when contemplating a bet of the League One betting on promotion.


The bottom four clubs in League One are relegated to Football League Two, being replaced by the top three clubs from that division, along with the winners of the League Two playoffs, which involve the teams in 4th to 7th place in that division. Especially in the second half of the season, League One betting on relegation often has a small group of teams at very short prices. There is little or no value to be obtained from backing such sides at long odds-on, especially given their inconsistent nature. Punters would be well advised to seek sides at longer prices and keep stakes small, or give this market a swerve completely.

Top Goalscorer

Since the inception of League One, the top scorers have been Stuart Elliott (Hull City, runners-up in 2004-05), Freddy Eastwood (Southend United, League One champions in 2005-06), Billy Sharp (Scunthorpe, champions in 2006-07) and Jason Scotland (Swansea City, champions in 2007-08). Based on these limited results, it seems sensible for punters to concentrate on the top sides when venturing into the League One betting market on the top goalscorer. The contenders for the automatic promotion places do not generally emerge until the second half of the season. However, it is well worth sacrificing a few points on the price in order to increase the chances of a winning outcome.

E-mail It